Better Quiche Florentine Style

A lot of these recipes so far have been quiche.  I like quiche, and I have a lot of eggs.  This week we received some spinach in our CSA box.  We have been hit hard by the economy so we are also on WIC.  I went into the WIC office to discover that in order to keep the program afloat, my son no longer will be receiving cheese or condensed milk.  I find this to be really low that politicians are willing to take cheese from babies, but this isn’t a political blog.  I did vent on Facebook and someone asked me what the heck you do with condensed milk.  (As an aside, I am going to provide links to things that may not be widely available.  I do get a kickback if you order from these links.)  So, eggs plus spinach plus condensed milk equals….

Better quiche Florentine Style

Fry the bacon until crispy, drain, and set aside.  Meanwhile in a saucepan steam washed spinach until it wilts.  Drain and set aside.

In bowl beat eggs.  Then add condensed milk and regular milk.  (This ends up being 16 oz so if your can of condensed milk is larger or smaller just make up the difference with regular milk.)  Whisk in the cheese, onions, sriracha sauce, mural of flavor and salt.  When well mixed add in bacon and spinach.

Bake at 400 degrees F for 40 minutes.

These are all inexpensive ingredients I can find locally.  This quiche is also very light and fluffy with a good texture in my opinion, but I cook for myself.  My kids hate food and my husband likes anything made out of food.  Your tastes may differ.

Those of you who are familiar with “cock sauce” (called after the rooster on the label) or Sriracha may wonder if that makes this a spicy hot quiche, but it doesn’t.  The condensed milk and cheese balance out the flavor really well in my opinion at this dosage of hot sauce.   My husband says he couldn’t taste it in the quiche.  I thought it was just right.  If you haven’t tasted it, click on the bottle below and order some.  There is a kind of underground cooking culture that adores this sauce.  I live near a lot of Vietnamese restaurants and can’t wait to put it on my food there.  I take it for granted here in this part of the city.  Try it and good luck!

2 responses to “Better Quiche Florentine Style

  1. Sriracha is fantastic on mac n cheese (the real stuff, nothing from a box)

  2. Wonderful web site. Lots of helpful info here. I’m sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks in your sweat!

Leave a Reply

