King Oyster Mushroom and Asparagus Quiche

One of my favorite mushrooms to get at the store is the King Oyster Mushroom.  They are all sorts of wonderful and I use them in everything.  I like them in omelets especially.  So today with my abundance of eggs and some beautiful Asparagus I found I decided to whip up another variation on quiche.

When we get back on our feet again, I hope to order this kit and try growing these myself, but they are ridiculously cheap here in my neighborhood.  It would probably be more expensive for me to grow them myself and I’m not sure it will alter the taste that much like with veggies.  Currently, I have some regular oyster mushrooms going in the kitchen and they are pretty good, but the pink oyster mushrooms are my favorite of all the oysters.  Sadly, this year the place I order from was sold out.

I’ve added in sun dried tomatoes to this.  It’s killing me watching my little tomatoes and knowing it’s going to be a while yet before I get any fresh ones.  Last year I had a moment and ran out of canning jars so I dried all my Roma tomatoes instead of canning them like I usually do.  I have literally a TON of dried tomatoes and it isn’t something I think to put in recipes so I’m working on getting that into my regular cooking repertoire.  The thing that hangs me up is keeping the oil in the fridge stocked with dried tomatoes I’ve softened in a equal parts boiling water vinegar solution.

King Oyster Mushroom and Asparagus Quiche

  • 1 King Oyster Mushroom (they are huge!), chopped into bite sized pieces
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 C Sun-dried Tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 bunch Asparagus
  • 1/4 tsp White Pepper
  • 1/2 tsp Lemon Peel
  • 5 Eggs
  • 1 C Milk
  • 1 C crumbled Feta
  • 1/2 C shredded Muenster Cheese
  • 2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp Ginger
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 Pie Crust

Turn oven to broil.  Wash and clean Asparagus and lay out on lined pan.  Drizzle olive oil on top and sprinkle with white pepper and lemon peel.  Broil for 3 minutes.  Chop and set aside.

In skillet, pour oil off asparagus and add crushed garlic and mushrooms.   Saute until mushrooms are soft.

In bowl, whisk eggs, milk, and cheeses.  Add remaining ingredients, vegetables, and mushrooms.  Pour into pie crust and bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 45 minutes.

One response to “King Oyster Mushroom and Asparagus Quiche

  1. Looks good. I have some left over asparagus a neighbor gave us. I put it together with some mushrooms, bacon and cheese and expect to really enjoy supper. Thanks for encouraging me to make my first quiche!

Leave a Reply

