Radish Salad

It’s transplant time and my hands are full trying to keep up with the flats!  I’m busy pricking out the tiny seedlings and putting them into paper pots to get some size to them before they go to the garden.  I don’t trust the weather so I’m keeping them in a protected area as long as possible.

Yesterday, I picked some radishes out of my family’s garden.  They planted a mix of varieties and I have to say I like that plan.  There were icicle, purple, and a couple kinds of red.  All yummy.  I had a beautiful picture that I took on my cell phone and emailed to myself so I could post it here on the blog.  Then I made a delicious salad and sent that picture too.  Unfortunately, my phone has developed an attitude and the emails came with no attachments.  After I emailed them, my phone decided it was going to pretend to loose all my contacts and send off lots and lots of warning beeps about whatever it could think of.  I erased anything extra on the phone, cleared cache and rebooted it only to still not have any contacts.  So I asked a girlfriend to text me as a last resort and what do you know?  All my contacts were suddenly back.  Much more annoying than a few days ago when it decided to send me the same three texts from a friend in New York over and over and over again every five minutes all day, but the lovely pics were gone.  On the plus side, we are switching providers soon and will get new phones and mine will not be the same kind again.

So, on to the delicious salad we had with supper.  I was all over Illinois yesterday taking my 92 year old Grandmother shopping and having a really great day.  I stopped by my brother and my parents houses on the way home and ended up with some yummy fresh radishes.  On the way back to St. Louis, I saw the little middle of nowhere vegetable truck sitting where it has sat for probably 30 years.  I’ve been all over the woods the last few weeks trying to get morels and lo and behold, she had two bags for sale.  I have had a horrible craving for them and haven’t had any for years so instead of the beautiful asparagus she was really selling, I took the bag of morels.  We fried them up in a fairly simple rice flour batter and decided they needed something so we smothered them in Cajun seasoning before frying the rest.  Oh so good!  I think morels must have some kind of chemical that makes the little brain in your stomach high.  They were delicious.  We added more flour to the remaining batter and made up some onion rings too and they were fantastic.  So to balance out all the fried food I set to work to make a decent salad with the radishes.  It was more than decent.  I love it when we have a great meal.

Radish Salad

  • 1 bunch radishes sliced thinly
  • 2 plum tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 yellow pepper, chopped
  • 1 very small red onion, chopped (why aren’t they called purple onions?)
  • 2 cups sugar snap peas, sliced
  • 2 cucumbers cubed
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon Pensey’s Mural of Flavor
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Mix all vegetables in a large bowl.  Mix remaining ingredients in jar and shake well.  Pour over vegetables and toss.  Serve.

I have never been to Pensey’s I’m embarrassed to say, but I drive by it a lot and fantasize about what I see in the windows.  For Christmas, I received a little gift box from there that had the Mural of Flavor in it.  I’m pretty impressed with this spice mix.  It’s probably the best I’ve had that wasn’t home made.  I really like Cavender’s and Old Bay as well, but this one is really good.  I think the closest I’ve tasted to it is probably the Old Bay, but this one is so much better.

Leave a Reply

