Sweet Potato Slips

Time to start your slips.  I did this last week and then forgot to blog about it.

Take your sweet potatoes, cut them in half, and put in jar of water with half the potato below water.  I use toothpicks to hold them in place.  Then place them in a warm well lit place.  Mine are on top of a radiator.  They still may not be warm enough since we already have the heat turned way way down, but I’m hoping.

In a few weeks you should have slips ready for planting.

This weekend I am getting my flats started.  I have no idea where I will put them, but it looks like I have a week before cold weather again.  So this is what I am planting this week:

  • Broccoli
  • Rooted Parsley
  • Cabbage
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Head Lettuce
  • Leaf Lettuce
  • Parsley
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Leeks
  • Green Onions
  • Chives
  • Collards
  • Regular Tomatoes
  • Kale
  • Mustard

What is going directly into beds:

  • Potatoes
  • Onion Sets

So, what does Rodale say to do this month?

  • Plant asparagus and give Pulverized phosphate and potash rock.
  • Cole crops can be planted out in hot bed or sheltered location.
  • Plant out horseradish, onion, and rhubarb.
  • Dig last year’s parsnips.
  • Plant early potatoes in hot beds.
  • Plant Garden sage and Tomato seeds.

 

6 responses to “Sweet Potato Slips

  1. Thanks for including that rhubarb should be planted out now. I grew some from seed this year but wasn’t sure how early it could go into the garden. Now I can start hardening it off!

  2. I’ve recently started a blog, and the information you provide on this web site has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  3. Head Farm Steward

    Yeah, like I’ve got time to dig last year’s parsnips. Potatoes are going in Saturday…weather permitting. The row is marked out and the horse manure is well composted.

  4. Pingback: Dig the parsnips? « Chism Heritage Farm

  5. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such magnificent info being shared freely out there…

  6. Pingback: Sweet Potato Slips Part II | City Roots and Fruits

Leave a Reply

