Elk Curry Stroganoff

Last weekend we also had door knock dinner at my Mom’s house.   She lives next door to my brother so we went over there for lunch.  I’ve been having issues with gout and told her ahead of time I really wasn’t interested in eating ham or lunch meat which are her default company foods.  Stupid genetics.  Anyway, she had some elk in the freezer she had gotten from my Godfather and I’m not going to turn down elk if I have a chance to eat it.  It’s too delicious.  Mom isn’t feeling great right now and wanted to make stew.  I could tell she wasn’t really feeling up to cooking so I decided to help out.  This is what we came up with.

Elk Curry Stroganoff

  • 3 TBS vegetable oil
  • 1 lb elk stew meat
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 C flour
  • 1 TBS garlic powder
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 3 Carrots chopped
  • 3 stalks celery sliced
  • 1 Qt apple juice
  • 2 TBS flour
  • 3 medium potatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 C dried shitake mushrooms
  • 1 TBS curry powder
  • 2 tsp tumeric
  • 2 tsp thyme
  • 8 oz cream cheese cut up
  • 1 package Kluski noodles

Season elk with salt and pepper and dredge in flour.  In hot oil, brown elk with garlic powder.  Push to side of pan and add onions, carrots, and celery.  Saute until soft.  Add 2 TBS flour and mix elk and vegetables together.  Gradually add apple juice and deglaze pan.  Add potatoes, mushrooms, curry powder, turmeric, and thyme and bring to a boil, reduce to simmer to thicken apx. 20 min.  Meanwhile, in separate pan boil water for noodles.  Cook noodles according to package direction.  When elk mixture has thickened and potatoes are soft, add cut up cream cheese to melt.  Remove from heat, but keep warm while noodles finish up.  Salt and pepper to taste. Drain the noodles.  Serve elk in sauce over noodles.

*One word of warning:  Some of my Mom’s spices are over 30 years old, so if using fresh spices you might want to take it easy on them since they will have retained more of their flavor!*

We fed 12 people with this, but I could have eaten a lot more.  Even the kids willing ate this for the most part.  My nephew went back for seconds.  It is fairly sweet just to be warned.  My first thought was to put sour cream instead of the cream cheese, but Mom didn’t have any so I thought this was a perfectly good substitute.  My folks live to far from any grocery stores to run out for ingredients like that.  I loved this dish and so did my Mom.  She’s a pretty picky eater so I was doubly happy with the way it turned out.

Sorry about the back log of posts today.  I needed to get caught up with what I had put together this week.  It’s getting to be the busy time of the year for gardening and I don’t want to have to leave stuff out in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

